Meet Shop Emerald City- An Interview

22 Jan

mermaid-banner

I was so excited when Shop Emerald City contacted me to write for their blog.  I am such a big fan of what they do and the amazing, unique items they sell.  I want you to meet and love them too, so without further ado, I am taking you on a virtual date (and of course I’m paying).  Meet Ian, creator extraordinaire.  I asked him the hard hitting questions I know you were all dying to ask.  You’re welcome.

1. How did the idea for Shop Emerald City come about? Where did the name come from?

SkullBowEmerald City was born in early 2012 and started out with a table in a spare room, and a $99 sewing machine. Since then we have grown heaps and I must admit I’ve been pleasantly surprised by its success so far.

2. Where do you see Shop Emerald City headed in the near and distant future?

LimeCrimeI have been really surprised at how we have grown so much inside 12 months and so I see the near future as one of consolidation, improving, continual growth and a far greater range of products, both handmade here in Australia as well as supporting other creatives worldwide. I would also like to focus on and offer a great range of products in the plus sizes, something that a lot of shops seem to neglect. The distant future would see Emerald City becoming a community of designers, creatives and consumers. Online shopping is meant to be fun and so in both the near and distant future, I would always see Emerald City being about fun. We may get bigger but I am determined to have our customer service element grow at an equal pace.

3.  I see that you are very hands on in your business (i.e. cutting the leggings yourself).  Do you have a hand in designing and creating most of the products?

I am very hands on with the making. I select, cut, sew, label, wrap, post, do all the paperwork, clean, and make a great cup of coffee. I have a great team who keeps me very grounded. I like to have a go at everything and wouldn’t ask anyone to do something unless I have either done it myself or am willing to try.  I hope to be involved a lot more with design in 2013. I am also keen in taking on more talent and designers.

4. Tell us something about yourself.

KnickersDamn, I hate this question! I am not very good at self promotion. I regard myself as a people person. I live a comfortable but modest life with my partner Victoria who is a great support to me. I like to keep my personal life private and separate from my business life (where possible!). At the end of day I am me, I enjoy what I am currently doing. It’s fun. I like to focus on positive energy. My other love is Vintage and Classic motorcycles, having restored to concourse condition a 1951 BSA A10 650cc Plunger. Oh, and I would have to also mention my second greatest passion, that great Californian band, The Doobie Brothers, as well as John Fogerty and CCR (Creedence Clearwater Revival). Some would describe this passion to be more like an obsession. Fine food and a good red wine also are passions of mine.

5. Is it true that you live in an Emerald mansion?

Oh how I wish, and how easy would it be to say yes. But try a very modest, 4 bedroom house in north Brisbane Queensland. I’m comfortable, but it aint a mansion!

6. What inspires you?

MedusaWell the world didn’t end in 2012 as predicted, so that is an inspiration! A lot of things inspire me but I don’t have a list of things like people, songs, history, events, books or art that inspire me. To me inspiration can be found anywhere, and most of the time it’s something intangible or difficult to define. When I think of the things that do inspire me, they all seem to fall under the umbrella of good hard work, respect, integrity and a commitment to do what you believe and go where you want to go and be.

7. What is your favorite mermaid movie?

The Secret of Roan Inish

8. What was your day job before becoming the owner of Shop Emerald City?

ConcreteI hope you’re sitting down when you read this. My day job before becoming the owner of Emerald City was the 28 years I spent in the Australian Army, reaching the rank of Major. The contrast between that and owning Emerald City couldn’t be any greater. I often laugh when I think that one day, I was the Second in Command of an Australian Artillery Regiment, the next, I found myself sitting in front of a sewing machine! I’m also qualified in high school teaching.

9. What do you want the world to know about Shop Emerald City?

MermaidBowWe are a small organisation focused on customer service above all else. We have only been trading since February 2012, but have grown substantially since then. It doesn’t matter how big we get, my focus will always be on customer service. We try and find the best products for the best price. We also cater to all people and their varying means. We completely understand that for many, money does not come easy and many have to work hard to save up to treat themselves to something nice, and so we like to make it our business that customers get a good value and high quality products at  a very fair price. Hearing a customer tell us that our customer service is first class just makes us work harder to improve their shopping experience with us. It is what drives us.

10. What is your favorite curse word?

Generally “Fuck,” but light-heartedly, “Shit,” “Bugger,” “Poo Bum Wee.”

2 Responses to “Meet Shop Emerald City- An Interview”

  1. bossmarebetty March 16, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    Fantastic..!! Xx I loved your questions ..!

    • cchakko March 16, 2013 at 9:11 pm #

      Thank you for checking it out! Xoxox

Leave a Reply

