Seeing Red: The Search for the Perfect Lipstick

12 Nov

Much like the perfect mate, finding the perfect red lipstick can be daunting and almost nightmarish.  I have oodles of half used tubes of red lipstick lining my makeup cases.  I have tried virtually every brand from the drugstore to the department store.  I don’t even want to think about the money I have spent and wasted in my quest.  Finding the perfect shade of red is the number one most difficult task in this attempt.  And once you find it, you will rejoice and finally breathe a sigh of relief releasing the stress you didn’t even know was there.

But once you find the shade, you realize that the formulation may not be right.  Two of the most famous reds out there are MAC’s Ruby Woo and Russian Red.

Russian Red  became famous in the 90’s after being touted as Madonna’s go-to shade for her Blonde Ambition tour.  Being a fan of red lipstick and the Queen herself, I went straight to Nordstrom and mistakenly bought Ruby Woo at the MAC counter (it wasn’t until recently I discovered I’d bought the wrong color).

Ruby Woo is a beautiful true, bright red, but it is very matte.  I found it a little too drying and a few hours after applying, my lips were peeling flakes of red (gross and also more likely to get on your teeth). My second red was also a MAC shade called Dubonnet which is a much deeper garnet shade of red, and also has a more satin finish, much more flattering than matte if you have thinner lips like me.

While the color was lovely, even with mass amounts of liner, I would still experience feathering and end up looking a mess at the end of the day. From here I moved on to Drop Dead Red by Too Faced, another gorgeous garnet-ruby shade with true blue undertones which is flattering on many skintones.  But, same issue, I would have terrible feathering and ended up looking like Courtney Love at the end of a drug binge after only a few hours of wear.  I gave up my dream of a daily red.

Then I found her.  Moulin Rouge by MakeUp Forever inspired by the famous nightclub’s performers.  It is a satin finish that is almost matte.  It is a bright, rich true blue red.  And the best part?  It stays on your lips.  I have eaten, drank, chatted away and it stays all day.  I use it with their Aqua Lip liner in 8C.

It’s a waterproof liner so it probably has a lot to do with the staying power.  It is on the pricier side with the lipstick selling for $19 and the pencil selling for $18 in the US.  But I promise you it is so worth it.  Now if only I could find a good garnet red that will stay the way this one does.  Any recommendations on what lipsticks work best for you?  Have you found another red that has rocked your world?  Tell me about it in the comments below.

Muah!

2 Responses to “Seeing Red: The Search for the Perfect Lipstick”

  1. superqueen November 12, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    I could write a degree thesis on the search for the perfect red lipstick. One thing I’m sure of is that the *perfect* shade doesn’t exist: there are many shades I love and they are perfect for me in different moments, according to my mood or occasion.

    Two shades I love are MAC Ruby Woo and Russian Red, of course, along with Viva Glam I. The best red shades come from NARS, in my opinion: I’ve tried almost all their red lip colours and I like Cruella and Dragon Girl (velvet matte lip pencils), Mascate. Red Lizard and Heat Wave, among the others. I also have some go-to drugstore colours I like – one by Maybelline (sorry, I don’t remember the name of this one) and one from the Kate Moss for Rimmel collection. I tend to prefer matte textures and blue-based colours.

    I’ve never tried MakeUpForever lipsticks, but your review has made me curious…

    • cchakko November 12, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

      I haven’t tried NARS lipsticks yet, but I may just have to! I have some other shades from Makeup Forever and I very much like the longevity of wear. I may just have to make a Sephora swoop today! Thank you for the feedback.

Leave a Reply

